

E-SLATE

American Academy of Underwater Sciences (AAUS)

EDITORIAL NOTE – October 2015

Welcome to the October E-Slate. This issue is a bit late as we were all enjoying the 2015 AAUS Diving for Science Symposium. I would like to personally thank all of you who pitched in to help make this a great meeting. I couldn't have done it without you! Thank you to all who participated this year and we hope to see you all back, along with those who couldn't make it to Key West, for Rhode Island in 2016! Watch the E-Slate for more details on that meeting as plans progress. Next month we will return to our typical format and we welcome news, announcements, job postings, and images of underwater work at aus@disl.org. Current and past issues of the E-Slate are available at www.aaus.org.

2015 AAUS Symposium

The 2015 AAUS Symposium, held in Key West, FL was a great success! Our workshops included Aquarius orientation dives (Tom Potts), Coral Reef Ecology workshop (Tim White), DAN Instructor Pro IQC workshop (Steve Clabuesch), VCI Refresh course (Mauritius Bell), Lionfish workshop (Lad Atkins), a new DSO orientation (Rick Riera-Gomez, Pema Kitaeff and Christian McDonald), a National DSO meeting (Jim Hayward, Rick Riera-Gomez) and a post symposium field trip to the Dry Tortugas National Park (Jim Nimz).

The scientific symposium was one of our best attended meetings ever with 153 participants. The annual AAUS business meeting and DSO meeting drew 99 participants representing 58 current OMs and 13 other organizations. The science program included a variety of topics from octopus and black seabass to mapping microbial genomics and shipwrecks to how much gas is consumed in a diving emergency. Electronic versions of the proceedings are available for download at www.aaus.org.

The Kevin Flanagan Student Travel Award provided funds for two students, Marissa McMahan (Northeastern University) and Catie Mitchell (Vanderbilt University), to attend this year's meeting. Look for an announcement of the scholarship winners in next month's E-Slate. AAUS Service Recognition Awards were presented at the AAUS awards banquet to George Peterson, Diana Steller and Pema Kitaeff for their service as Directors and to Thom Skalko for his efforts as the facilitator in the AAUS strategic planning process. Dr. Jeffry Bozanic was awarded the Conrad Limbaugh Memorial Award for Scientific Diving

Leadership and Dr. Charles Birkeland was awarded the Scientific Diving Lifetime Achievement award.

The AAUS Foundation held the annual scholarship fundraiser, The Bubblebreaker. This year we hosted our first ever Casino Night. We all enjoyed the evening and raised a lot of money towards our scholarship fund. Look for an update from the Foundation in next month's eslate once all the winnings are tallied up. Our thanks go to ALL of our sponsors for this event!



Additional Sponsors Include:

XS Scuba

Fourth Element

USIA

Halcyon

Ikelite

Light and Motion

Performance Freediving

Shearwater

Trident

Florida Fish and Wildlife

Hall's Diving Center

TankH2O.com

History of Diving Museum



Congratulations to Peter Straub who won this year's beautiful Kathy English print entitled *Key West Paradise*.

Our thanks go to Dave Eaken from Florida Fish and Wildlife, DAN, workshop coordinators, the crew of the MV Spree and all participants for making it a productive and enjoyable week.

Lionfish Workshop Photo Credit: Sean Sheldrake





Photo Credit: Ross Whippo

Casino Night Photo Credit Robbie Christian



2016 AAUS Diving For Science Symposium

The 2016 AAUS Diving for Science Symposium will be hosted by The University of Rhode Island's Narragansett Bay campus, September 19-24th. Watch the E-slate and website for more information as plans progress.

The mission of the American Academy of Underwater Sciences is to facilitate the development of safe and productive scientific divers through education, research, advocacy, and the advancement of standards for scientific diving practices, certifications, & operations.

American Academy of Underwater Sciences 101 Bienville Boulevard, Dauphin Island, AL 36528 Tel 251 591 3775 Fax 2518617540 aaus@disl.org www.aaus.org

Editor: Heather Fletcher - aaus@disl.org Editorial Board: Michael Dardeau, Rick Riera-Gomez, Amy Moran

AAUS BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Amy Moran President Rick Riera-Gomez President-Elect Lora Pride Secretary Mike Dardeau Treasurer Jen Smith

Director-at-Large,

Scholarship

Narineh Nazarian Appointed Director (AD), Membership

Director-at-Large

Christopher Rigaud Elliott Jessup AD, Finance Liz Kintzing AD, Standards Tim White AD, Statistics Jim Hayward Director-at Large





2015, volume 9, issue 10, page 3